Diary of a Sutton Councillor

Friday 4th April – Friday 11th April

HOLIDAY

I took a short holiday with my family as it was the Easter Break, to do some walking in the Peak District. As a councillor it can be very hard to get away from work as you are effectively on call at any time. There is no demarcation of your working hours and you can receive a telephone call or email at any time. The only way to have a complete break is to leave the computer and telephone and get away from it all.

 

I believe that a complete break from work is so important and I begrudge it to no one. A holiday is beneficial as it allows you to take a more objective view of both your personal priorities and work issues. A bit of mental distance can provide perspective that is lacking when you are bogged down in the midst of things. It helps prevent the problem of ‘not seeing the wood for the trees’ that is an easy trap to fall into as a councillor.

 

My break reminded me that my reason for becoming a councillor was to listen to the views of residents, make sure that they are informed & consulted on issues that affect them, and to ensure that the decisions and activities of the Council were in the interests of the majority of residents.

Unfortunately the backlog of work that greeted me on my return means that I have immediately returned to ‘firefighting’ again.

May 11, 2008 - Posted by | Opinion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

