Diary of a Sutton Councillor

Monday 3rd March 2008 7pm

COUNCIL MEETING

The main item for this Council meeting was the budget.

 

I had submitted a question in my role as Carers Champion as I was concerned that the Carer’s Grant was no longer ringfenced by central government. Unfortunately I did not receive the reply I had hoped for: a public statement that we had made the decision to ringfence it ourselves and to increase the amount. The response was just a reassurance that this authority is committed to its carers and a mention of the additional £85,000 award for respite care. Maybe I needed to make my question more specific.

 

I also contributed to the debate on the recommended budget highlighting the fact that we were one of only nine (of 33) London boroughs to have a moderate criteria for access to social care, the rest requiring a significant level of need to obtain support. I believe that this shows a willingness to support our more vulnerable residents, despite our financial constraints. It is also prudent as early intervention can prevent more costly interventions being required later.

 

http://sutton.moderngov.co.uk/ieListDocuments.asp?CId=146&MId=1829&Ver=4&J=9

May 11, 2008 - Posted by | Committee Meeting

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

