Diary of a Sutton Councillor

Sunday 31st May 12 noon

 SUTTON ACTIVE CHALLENGE

Strictly speaking this wasn’t official council business as I attended with my family for the fun of it, however it was a council organised event and I was also showing my support.

 

It was a great idea to offer an activity that the family could do together. Much nicer than standing on the edge of a football pitch just watching your children take part. My boys joined in with enthusiasm and as the events included welly throwing – see video above, and egg, spoon and sack race I didn’t feel too intimidated as a non-athlete to take part. It was all good fun but things did get competitive when I was pitted against my husband in the basketball circuit challenge!

 

We did everything we could do as a family apart from the dance challenge as unfortunately we timed it a bit wrong to take part. Our boys wanted to go around all the challenges again but my husband & I decided that was enough and we needed food, and beer to recover.

 

There was a great turnout at the event and I hope it becomes a regular feature. Well done to all the staff involved in organising & managing the event. Everyone was very friendly and patient and their enthusiasm was contagious.

 

June 5, 2008 - Posted by | Opinion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

