Diary of a Sutton Councillor

Tuesday 24th June 10am

Joint Scrutiny of Tier 4 Personality Disorders BriefingHenderson Hospital

I met with Marion Woodard, Senior Policy Officer at Sutton and Cllr. Sheila Knight from the London Borough of Merton at Merton Civic Offices to discuss the meeting on 2nd July which was prompted by the closure of the Henderson Hospital in Sutton. This meeting was to discuss procedure and to ask Cllr. Knight if she would be prepared to be vice-chair. Cllr. Knight is a long serving member of her borough’s health scrutiny committees and she has a particular interest, and knowledge, of issues around mental health which would be a bonus to this committee.

 

As an aside I spent today travelling by bus as I was aware that parking in Merton was problematic. I was very pleasantly surprised at how well it all went. A bus went virtually door to door to get me from home to Merton Civic Offices. I was then able to have an early lunch in a local Irish Pub I knew served good food and then caught a bus to my next meeting at 1pm at Denmark Road in Carshalton. After that I caught another bus home again. At no point did I have a long wait for the bus nor was the stop far from where I wanted to be. Watching the world go by from the top of the bus was very relaxing and meant I arrived in a good frame of mind for my meetings. I am also fairly sure that the journeys didn’t take any longer than they would have done by car if you factor in time taken to find parking spaces etc. I will certainly be doing this more often.

June 30, 2008 - Posted by | Meeting

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

