Diary of a Sutton Councillor

Sunday 26th April 2.15pm

 Sutton Scouts St George’s Day Parade

scouts march 2009 013

I attended this event as a parent rather than in my councillor role, however I have a lot of support and respect for the Scouting organisation and it was a great way to mark St George’s Day.

Seeing all the Sutton Scout groups gathered together highlighted just how many groups are active in Sutton, thanks to the hundreds of vol unteers who plan and co-ordinate all the activities. It must have taken nearly half an hour for all the groups to file past the Mayor, Cllr. Brendan Hudson as they paraded their flags through Sutton town centre.

 What I like about the Scouts is that they bring together children from all backgrounds, and give them the opportunity to experience activities and adventures that they might not otherwise have. I know that my children would probably not have the chance to camp out if it was left up to me, as sleeping in a field is not my first choice of recreational activity, but of course the kids love it. The ethos of discipline, respect and structure instilled by the Scout leaders means that they are then confident to let the youngsters in their charge participate in activities that will challenge and excite them.

When I sent my eldest off on his first camp I thought that being away from home for a couple of nights would be a good challenge for him. I was even more impressed when he returned to relate how he had been kayaking, ice skating and carting whilst there. I suspect there to have been some mud surfing too from the state of his clothes! The trip was a real boost to his confidence.

Try the Scouts website if you want to find out more about the organisation.

 

June 5, 2009 - Posted by | Opinion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

