Diary of a Sutton Councillor

Walking out of Darkness – Fundraising for CLASP

2013-12-08 16.15.33

On Saturday October 11th I will be participating in the Walking Out Of Darkness  10 mile walk around the London Thames Path fundraising for the charity CLASP.

CLASP raises awareness, support and funds for those suffering the stigma surrounding mental and stress related illness and suicide. The charity states that suicide is preventable with help and support.

I have set up a JustGiving page and any support for this worthwhile cause would be very welcome. There is still time to help me reach my target of £300.

I have been fitting  my training around my council work as best I can.

This is an excellent cause and very timely with World Mental Health Day on Friday 10th.

I am also very proud that Lib Dem-run Sutton Council has launched its Our Place! project which seeks to turn Central Sutton into a ‘mental health friendly community’ in which professionals, businesses and residents all have a role in supporting people with mental health issues.

The Council has a range of activities scheduled to mark World Mental Health Day in Sutton.

UPDATE 18TH NOVEMBER 2014

I successfully completed the walk in under three hours, and have raised a grand total of £626 for CLASP. Thank you so much to everyone who donated, your money will go towards supporting people with mental illness and suicide prevention work.

 

October 8, 2014 - Posted by | Information, Liberal Democrats | , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a comment